EQUAL Day 2019

Law and|or Civil Disobedience

Octobre 17, 2019 - Brussels - Flagey

Register

Disobedience and its relationship to the law

This mode of action raises a significant number of fundamental questions that we would like to explore with you.

Is disobedience a right? And if it is, what place should it have? What place is there for the disobedient in the face of justice in a state governed by the rule of law?

Where do we draw the line between disobedience and insurrection, violence, or even revolt? Is civil disobedience just a means of taking action, or is it an end in itself?

Is this mode of action capable of convincing public opinion, of transcending society’s disagreements to express a common will?

Protest

Programme

  • Introduction

    -

    Get started! Let’s all get started!

    You do not have to be an expert in disobedience to participate. We shall start the day with some important concepts: basic principles, techniques used, historical and political context, links with the notion of the rule of law, violent or peaceful civil disobedience, individual or collective, etc.

    Flagey

  • Testimonials

    -

    I disobey, you disobey, ...

    For some, disobedience is a regular practice. Others experience it through the involvement of someone close to them or an acquaintance. Still others observe it from a distance, are interested in it, and undoubtedly want to practise it in their turn. We invite you to share your respective experiences in the light of some testimonials.

    Flagey

  • Workshop

    -

    Is disobedience a fundamental right?

    After a short presentation of the current legal framework of disobedience, we propose a co-construction workshop so as to make proposals jointly to clarify and extend this legal framework, or to reach the conclusion that it is not useful or opportune, and may even be dangerous. The conclusions of our reflections will be published after the event.

    Flagey

  • Cinema

    -

    "The Valley" by Nuno Escudeiro

    By welcoming refugees, the inhabitants of the Roya Valley in the Alpes-Maritimes broke the law. The documentary "The Valley" chronicles their resistance to the brutality of a policy that is limited to the expulsion of these migrants. “Volunteers from the Roya Citoyenne association became aware of the irregularities committed by the representatives of the state”.

    Flagey - Studio 5

  • Repas

    -

    Standing buffet and music

    Let’s continue talking and sharing over a good meal with a stirring musical background Enlivened by Mononk’s Band, the dinner will be offered by associations committed to healthy and environmentally friendly food. Registration is required for the evening, in order to avoid waste.

    Flagey

Register

We ask you to estimate the price you are wiling to pay to attend. The minimum is 2€ (without supper) or 5€ (supper included). To give you an idea, we invest about 50€ per participant. Contact us by email if you do not wish to pay online.

Sponsors

EQUAL Day 2019

Droit et|ou Désobéissance Civile

17 Octobre 2019 - Bruxelles - Flagey

Réservations

La désobéissance et son rapport au droit

Ce mode d’action soulève un nombre important d’interrogations fondamentales que nous souhaitons explorer avec vous.

Désobéir est-il un droit. Et si oui, quelle place faut-il lui donner ? Quelle place y a-t-il pour le désobéissant face à la justice dans un Etat de droit ?

Quelle frontière tracer entre désobéissance et insurrection, violence, ou encore révolte ? La désobéissance civile n’est-elle qu’un moyen d’action, ou une fin en soi ?

Ce mode d’action est-il à même de convaincre l’opinion publique, de transcender les désaccords de la société pour exprimer une volonté commune ?

Manifestant tenant un feu de bengale

Programme

  • Introduction

    -

    Lancez-vous! Lançons-nous!

    Etre un expert en désobéissance n'est pas un prérequis pour participer. Nous commencerons la journée par quelques notions importantes: principes de base, techniques utilisées, contexte historique et politique, liens avec la notion d'état de droit, désobéissance civile violente ou pacifique, individuelle ou collective, etc.

    Flagey

  • Témoignages

    -

    Je désobéis, tu désobéis, ...

    Pour certains, la désobéissance est une pratique régulière. D’autres la vivent à travers l’engagement d’une ou d’un proche, d’une connaissance. D’autres encore l’observent de plus loin, s’y intéressent, souhaitent sans doute la pratiquer à leur tour. A la lumière de quelques témoignages, nous vous invitons à partager vos expériences respectives.

    Flagey

  • Atelier

    -

    La désobéissance est-elle un droit fondamental?

    Après une courte présentation du cadre légal actuel de la désobéissance, nous vous proposons un atelier de co-construction pour émettre ensemble des propositions afin de préciser et d'élargir ce cadre juridique ou d’arriver à la conclusion que ce n’est pas utile ou opportun, voire dangereux. Les conclusions seront publiées après l’événement.

    Flagey

  • Cinéma

    -

    "La Vallée" de Nuno Escudeiro

    En accueillant des réfugiés, les habitants de la vallée de la Roya, dans les Alpes-Maritimes, se sont mis hors-la-loi. La vallée, est la chronique de cette résistance face à la brutalité d’une politique d’expulsion de ces migrants. "Au cours des trois années de tournage, les bénévoles de l’association Roya Citoyenne ont pris conscience des irrégularités commises par les représentants de l’Etat".

    Flagey - Studio 5

  • Repas

    -

    Walking Dinner musical

    Prolongeons le partage et la discussion autour d’un bon repas et dans une ambiance musicale endiablée. Animé par Mononk’s Band, le diner sera proposé par des associations soucieuses d’une nourriture saine et respectueuses de l’environnement. Pour éviter tout gaspillage, il est nécessaire de réserver pour la soirée.

    Flagey

Réservations

Participation libre et consciente. Estimez le prix de votre participation avec un minimum de 2€ (sans repas) ou de 5€ (avec repas). A titre indicatif, nous investissons environ 50€ par participant. Contactez-nous par email si vous ne souhaitez pas payer en ligne.

Sponsors